12. Get my nose pierced

I always thought that after I got my cartilage pierced, I’d be finished with piercings.  More holes in my body?  Pass.  Plus, needles were never my favorite.

Recently I’ve gotten considerably less squeamish and did a bit of thinking about if a nose piercing was something I wanted.  They’re much more common in California than in New Jersey (or maybe I just happen to notice them more here) so maintaining a ‘professional’ look wasn’t much of a concern.  Once I decided to take the plunge, I contacted a local friend of mine who has a few tattoos and piercings to ask for a recommendation.  Even better, Jayne was willing to come along with me to the tattoo parlor and grab a beer afterwards at the Trappist.

I was barely nervous waiting my turn, listening to the tattoo guns buzz and the girl in line in front of me pick out jewelry.  But sitting up on that table with a heavily pierced asian woman’s hands up my nose?  Yes, yes, that was weird and stomach churning and oh-god-please-don’t-put-any-holes-where-there-shouldn’t-be.

It hurt for a split second; by the time I registered the pain it was over and I was trying to get used to the feeling of metal inside my nostril.  It turned out pretty darn cute, if I can brag for a moment, and I’m currently resisting the urge to pierce anything else.

Image

Leave a Reply

