5. Try 25 new recipes (kale chips)

My college boyfriend (and current good friend), Tom, is a foodie.  When we were dating I happily tried pretty much everything that he put in front of me, from a chorizo and black bean dish to cheese tortellini with pesto.  In Paris he got me to try snails (chewy, but good) and duck (fatty, but damn good on a baguette).  I ate my first piece of sushi and had my first legal drink (a blowjob shot, don’t ask) with him.  So when he told me that I should try making kale chips, I knew I had to make it happen.

Kale chips, unlike the oatmeal cake from last week, are pretty easy.  Wash kale.  Break off from the stem into chip-sized pieces.  Toss in olive oil, salt, pepper. Bake at 400 degrees until crispy.

I’m proud to say I did not screw them up.  The kale shrinks a lot as it bakes so I have less than I expected, so I’m not sure if I’ll go through the trouble again.  I’ll probably demolish them in less time than it took to make them.

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

