3. Go without Facebook for a month

I’m about a week into my post-facebook life and figured that it’s a good time to reflect, in list form.

1. I don’t feel like I’m missing out on much.  Get this- if I get curious about what my friends are up to- I text them!  And I’ve already had one friend who rarely texts me send me a text just to say hello and that he was thinking about what I was up to.

2. I transferred my facebook addiction to the New York Times app on my phone.  Now in the morning I roll over and read about what’s going on in Syria, or skim the most emailed section.

3. Sometimes I think about how cool it would be to post something to Facebook, but then I stop and wonder why.  To make myself look more interesting? As a humblebrag? Most of the times, yeah, posting on Facebook seems driven by a desire to make people see that I’m doing well for myself.  Instead I’ve been trying to sit back and think about how lucky I am to get to experience this moment, without having to share it with 250 other people.

2 thoughts on “3. Go without Facebook for a month

  1. Hah :) I traveled earlier this year and had a facebook hiatus at the same time, so pretty much went FB-free for three months. It felt good. I’m still on it these days, but at least not as frequently as I used to be!

Leave a Reply

